Sports News

Hosts India dominate World Cup team of the tournament

Six players from finalists India and two from champions Australia have been selected in the World Cup squad for the tournament announced by the International Cricket Council (ICC) on Monday.

Top scorer Virat Kohli – who was named player of the tournament – ​​captain Rohit Sharma, KL Rahul, Ravindra Jadeja, Jasprit Bumrah and leading wicket-taker Mohammed Shami have all been included in the squad.

All-rounder Glenn Maxwell and spinner Adam Zampa were also selected in the lineup after helping Australia win a record sixth title with Sunday’s six-wicket victory.

Maxwell scored a double century against Afghanistan and a 40-ball 100 against Netherlands earlier in the event.

The selection panel comprised, among others, West Indian great Ian Bishop, former Australian batter Shane Watson and ICC general manager Wasim Khan.

Team of the tournament:

1. Quinton de Kock (week) (South Africa) – 594 runs at 59:40

2. Rohit Sharma (c) (India) – 597 runs at 54.27

3. Virat Kohli (India) – 765 runs at 95.62

4. Daryl Mitchell (New Zealand) – 552 runs to 69

5. KL Rahul (India) – 452 runs at 75.33

6. Glenn Maxwell (Australia) – 400 runs at 66.66 and six wickets at 55

7. Ravindra Jadeja (India) – 120 runs at 40 and 16 wickets at 24.87

8. Jasprit Bumrah (India) – 20 wickets at 6:65 p.m.

9. Dilshan Madushanka (Sri Lanka) – 21 wickets to 25

10. Adam Zampa (Australia) – 23 wickets at 10:39 p.m.

11. Mohammed Shami (India) – 24 wickets at 10:70

12th player: Gerald Coetzee (South Africa) – 20 wickets at 7:80 p.m.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button