Tech News

Argonne to host eight graduate students in Department of Energy-sponsored research program


Newswise — The US Department of Energy (DOE) Argonne National Laboratory will host eight graduate students (Ph.D.) who received awards under the DOEScience Graduate Student Research Office (SCGSR) Program.

Through the SCGSR program, outstanding Ph.D. students – 60 for this cycle – receive additional scholarships to conduct dissertation research and doctoral theses at national laboratories across the country. For three to 12 months, students collaborate with scientists and researchers in a mentorship while gaining direct experience for careers in various sciences, technologies, engineering and mathematics (STEM) the fields.

“Graduate students are the lifeblood of any research institute, instilling the energy, dedication and innovative thinking that advance science. » — Kawtar Hafidi, associate director of the Argonne laboratory for PSE

“We support a number of DOE-sponsored educational programs and are excited to once again partner with the SCGSR Office of Science,” said Meridith Bruozas, Argonne director of institutional partnerships. “Argonne is excited to welcome these students to our scientific community and support their research interests.”

SCGSR students will conduct research within Argonne’s Physical Sciences and Engineering (PSE) department; Computer Science, Environment and Life Sciences (CELS); and Directorates of Photonic Sciences (PSC).

“Graduate students are the lifeblood of any research institution, instilling the energy, dedication and innovative thinking that advance science,” said Kawtar Hafidi, Argonne associate laboratory director for PSE. “They not only represent the future of science; they are the driving force shaping its present.

Below are the eight Ph.D. students, their areas of research and Argonne mentors:

  • Nicholas Dewey, University of Georgia: Gas-phase chemical physics. Mentor: Stephen Klippenstein, Division of Chemical Sciences and Engineering.

  • Isaac Dyer, Northwestern University: Fundamental electrochemistry for chemical and materials sciences. Mentor: Justin Connell, Materials Science division.

  • Dylan Gilley, Purdue University: Data and Computational Sciences for Material and Chemical Sciences, Mentor: Jie Xu, Nanoscience and technology.

  • Tyler Horoho, University of Virginia: Experimental research in high energy physics. Mentor: Yuri Oksuzian, High Energy Physics division.

  • Spencer Kelham, Northern Illinois University: Development of accelerator technologies. Mentor: Yawei Yang, Accelerator Systems Division.

  • Karen Li, University of Washington: Fundamental science for advanced manufacturing. Mentor: Jie Xu, Nanoscience and technology.

  • Karen Medlin, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill: Applied mathematics. Mentor: Krishnan Raghavan, Mathematics and Computer Science division.

  • Cooper Yerby, University of Pennsylvania: Fundamental Science for Advanced Manufacturing. Mentor: Seth Darling, Advanced Energy Technologies Directorate.

Argonne National Laboratory seeks solutions to pressing national problems in science and technology. The nation’s first national laboratory, Argonne conducts cutting-edge basic and applied scientific research in virtually every scientific discipline. Argonne researchers work closely with researchers from hundreds of companies, universities, and federal, state, and municipal agencies to help them solve their specific problems, advance America’s scientific leadership, and prepare for the nation to a better future. With employees from more than 60 countries, Argonne is led by UChicago Argonne, LLC for the US Department of Energy Office of Science.

US Department of Energy Office of Science is the largest supporter of basic research in the physical sciences in the United States and strives to address some of the most pressing challenges of our time. For more information, visit https://​ener​gy​.gov/​s​c​ience.


Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button