Sports News

“2023 and 1987”: Australian Mitchell Marsh celebrates World Cup victory with father Geoff | Cricket News

Australian all-rounder Mitchell Marais expressed his joy over his team’s ICC Cricket World Cup title victory, posting a photo with his father, legendary batting legend Geoff Marsh, who also won the gold medal with the Australians in 1987. Marsh posted a photo on Instagram of himself holding the trophy with his father. “2023 and 1987,” the caption to Marsh’s story reads.

Mitchell Marsh had a solid Cricket World Cup. In 10 matches, Marsh scored 441 runs at an average of 49.00, with a strike rate of over 107. He scored two centuries and fifty in the tournament, with the highest score of 177*. He finished as the tenth highest run-scorer of the tournament and also took two wickets.

The all-rounder also won the 2015 Cricket World Cup with Australia. In this tournament, he played only three matches, scoring 31 runs with the highest score of 23. He also took five wickets in the tournament, a total of five wickets against England.

Geoff was also the star of the 1987 World Cup winning team, finishing third highest scorer with 428 runs in eight matches at an average of 61.14, with two centuries and a fifty. His best score was 126*.

Coming to the match, Australia elected to bowl first and bowled out India for 240 in 50 overs. Skipper Rohit Sharma (47 in 31 balls, with four boundaries and three sixes), Virat Kohli (54 in 63 balls, with four boundaries) and KL Rahul (66 in 107 balls, including a four) made some important shots.

Mitchell Starc (3/55) was the pick of the bowlers for Australia. Skipper Patrick Cummins (2/34) and Josh Hazlewood (2/60) also played well. Adam Zampa And Glenn Maxwell each has a ticket window.

Defending 240, India started very well and had the Australians losing at 47/3. Strike of Travis head (137 in 120 balls, with 15 fours and four sixes) and Marnus Labuschagne (58 in 110 balls, with four boundaries) left the Indian team without answers and guided Australia to a six-wicket victory.

Mohammed Shami took a wicket while Jasprit Bumrah took t

Topics mentioned in this article

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button